Skip to content

IWCLD´2009 Int.´l Workshop on Cross-Layer Design. Palma de Mallorca, 11-12 June 2009. Deadline for submission of papers: 2 February 2009.

IWCLD'2009 Int.'l Workshop on Cross-Layer Design. Palma de Mallorca, 11-12 June 2009. Deadline for submission of papers: 2 February 2009.

Cross-layer design refers to a paradigm which exploits dependence between layers to obtain performance gains. In the last decade, a large number of cross-layer designs have been put forward which only recently commenced converging towards a more synthesized and generalized universal cross-layer architecture.
Research on cross-layer design motivates collaboration among researchers from different specialities, such as antenna design, propagation characterization, signal processing, coding, scheduling, networking, etc. This paves the way to innovative solutions for next generation wireless communications systems.
The Second International Workshop on Cross Layer Design (IWCLD 2009) to be held on 11-12 June 2009, in Palma de Mallorca (Island of Mallorca, Spain), will focus on research challenges associated with cross-layer designs.
With Mallorca’s spectacular views, varied landscapes and its historic city centre bursting with life, we expect this event to be truly special.
Prospective authors are invited to submit their contributions of original unpublished research on cross-layer design. Topics of interest for submission include, but are not limited to:
• Cross-layer architectures for wireless communications (3G, 4G, ad-hoc, mesh and heterogeneous networks)
• Cross-layer adaptation for energy minimization in wireless sensor networks
• Cross-layer considerations for specific PHY techniques: MIMO, multi-carrier, space-time coding, etc.
• Cross-layer design for cognitive radio and cognitive networks
• Applications of network coding in cross-layer design
• Cross-layer end-to-end QoS support for wireless networks
• Cross-layer secure mechanisms for future generation wireless networks
• Cross-layer optimization of current standards (WiMAX,W-CDMA, etc.)
• Application-layer adaptation based on cross-layer strategies
• Complexity and scalability issues in cross-layer design
• Signalling for cross-layer protocol interaction
• Design, implementation and testbed results
• Interactions among PHY/MAC/RLC and transport layer protocol
• Cross-layer mobility management and routing protocols
• Security aspects in cross-layer designs.

Papers should be in English, not exceeding 5 double-column pages and should follow paper templates available on the Workshop web site The proceedings of the workshop will be included in the IEEExplore database and indexed by EI.

Submission deadline: February 2, 2009
Notification of acceptance: March 30, 2009
Final paper due: April 20, 2009

Please visit the conference web site for paper submission procedures and further details about the conference:
Steering Committee
Miguel A. Lagunas - CTTC, Spain
Josef Nossek - TU Munich, Germany
Dongfeng Yuan - Shandong U. China
General Co-chairs
Ana Pérez-Neira - UPC, Spain
Carles Antón-Haro - CTTC, Spain
Technical Program Co-chairs
Montse Nájar - UPC, Spain
Mischa Dohler - CTTC, Spain
Financial Chair
J. Mangues-Bafalluy - CTTC, Spain
Publications Chair
Lorenza Giupponi - CTTC, Spain
US Liaison
Alejandro Ribeiro, U. of Pennsylvania
Far East Liaison
Ju Liu - Shandong U., China
Special Sessions Chair
Xavier Mestre - CTTC, Spain
Local Arrangements
Laura Casaus - CTTC, Spain
David Company - CTTC, Spain
Eduard Díaz - CTTC, Spain
Margarida Hesselbach - CTTC, Spain
Local Committee
Ramon Puigjaner – UIB, Spain
Christian Ibars - CTTC, Spain
Christos Verikoukis - CTTC, Spain
Paolo Dini - CTTC, Spain
Antonio Pascual, UPC, Spain
Nizar Zorba - CTTC, Spain
Bartomeu Serra – UIB, Spain
Technical Committee
S. Affes
R. Agustí
A. Alexiou
M. Bengtsson
G. Chelius
H. Chen
J. Cioffi
G. Corazza
L. Correia
M.G. di Benedetto
C. Diot
J. Domingo-Pascual
A. Duda
S. Fdida
M. Garcia
J. García-Vidal
D. Gesbert
A. Gkelias
A. Goldsmith
A. Gomez-Skarmeta
M. Haardt
R. Heath
N. Jindal
M. Kaveh
M. Kihl
A. Klein
G. Kormetzas
I. Koutsopoulos
L. Libman J. Liu
D. Love
L. Loyola
J. Luo
S. Mangold
M. Matijasevic
C. Mecklenbrauker
B. Ottersten
N. Passas
X. Perez Costa
R. Puigjaner
G. Pujolle
A. Ribeiro
S. Ruiz
M. Rupp
M. Sanchez
B. Serra
O. Simeone
S. Simoens
M. Skoglund
D. Slock
U. Spagnolini
A. Svensson
J. Sykora
R. Tafazolli
F. Theoleyre
S. Toumpis
V. Tralli
W. Utschick
R. Verdone
J. Vidal
T. Watteyne